Driving in Virginia (VA) is a privilege not a right and is extended to those who can prove they can do so without endangering the public. Some drivers violate safety rules and the state can revoke or suspend their license. A revoked license is a bit different from a suspended license. If a driver’s license is suspended the suspension period varies based on the reason for the suspension. A revoked license means driving privileges are rescinded for longer periods of time; they typically result from more serious violations. Either way, they’ve lost their driving privileges. But what happens when people who have a suspended or revoked license decide to drive a car anyway?
As Virginia (VA) car accident lawyers we know that people who have their license taken away usually should not have one and are a danger to the public. A new report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration backs this opinion up. The report states that nineteen percent of motor vehicle fatalities involved drivers with invalid licenses. On top of that, drivers with invalid licenses comprised 13 percent of all drivers involved in fatal crashes.
So what happens if you are injured by a driver without a license? Chances are they won’t have car insurance either. Virginia law requires that car insurance policies include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (a.k.a. UM/UIM coverage) to help cover medical expenses, lost wages, pain and loss. If you are hurt by a driver without insurance it is your own coverage that will protect you.
If you haven’t yet been in a car accident then we recommended looking over your policy. You should ask yourself if $100,000 in UM/UIM coverage is enough on your own policy. Remember this is the coverage that's going to apply to you or your family member after a potentially serious accident. If you have been hurt in a car accident by an uninsured driver it’s too late to increase your coverage but speaking with an experienced Virginia car injury attorney is the next best thing you can do.