Car Injuries
No Financial Recovery For You, No Legal Fee
Request Your Free Consultation

Investigation Reveals Number of Unlicensed Teen Drivers Increasing

Our personal injury law firm recently reported on a fatal car crash caused by a teen driver who was speeding. The 16-year-old girl who was driving the car that killed her best friend did not even have a license to drive. The site of this accident was in the area of a similar fatal accident which occurred last summer. Ironically, that accident also involved an unlicensed teen driver.

An investigation by a local news team has revealed that the number of unlicensed teens who get behind the wheel and drive on North Carolina roads is increasing. There is a growing concern that those numbers will increase even more due to the funding cuts in driver education programs throughout the state.

Last fall, lawmakers in North Carolina completely cut funding to driver education programs in all school districts across the state. Even worse, this funding was stamped “non-recurring” – meaning it is very unlikely the state will ever provide this funding in the future.

The cost to put a student through a driver education course is $350. School districts were allowed to charge parents a small fee for the program, which was capped at $65. Without state funding, the costs will have to be passed on to already financially strapped school districts or to parents. However, many families may find the cost of the program just too expensive, which may leave thousands of teens without this resource to legally obtain their driver’s license.

If you have been injured in an accident caused by a teen driver, contact an experienced North Carolina personal injury attorney to find out what compensation you may be entitled to for your pain and loss.  

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment