No Financial Recovery For You, No Legal FeeRequest Your Free Consultation
Virginia Lawmakers Consider Making Texting While Driving a Primary Offense
The fine for driving while texting would be small, only $20 if it is the first offense or $50 for a second offense.
My Virginia personal injury attorney colleagues and I strongly believe that more laws restricting texting while driving, along with educational programs that teach teens about the dangers of using handheld electronic devices behind the wheel, are needed. Young drivers do not only text as easily as they breathe, they also feel immortal. This is a dangerous combination. Something must be done to limit distracted driving, and all drivers need to understand that no text message is important enough to die for.
As lawyers who focus only on personal injury law, we have been very involved with this issue and even wrote a consumer report about the dangers associated with distracted driving. We support the idea behind this legislation and look forward to watching the bill go through the legislative process, AC