What Are the Insurance Requirements for Commercial Trucks in Virginia?

Commercial auto insurance helps cover various legal and other expenditures if a commercial truck is involved in a collision. While having an insurance policy is not necessary, it is better to have it on since it can help keep your business safe.

So, if your company uses commercial trucks in Virginia, you should get auto insurance. This insurance is an ideal choice for companies that have either a fleet of cars or just one food truck. Let’s discuss the requirements for getting one in Virginia.

What is the Minimum Insurance Coverage for Personal Injury Case?

The commercial truck injury claims can have serious financial consequences, such as medical expenses, property damage, etc. Besides that, these claims can include non-economic damages such as emotional distress, depression, etc. Therefore, the FMCSA has a clear set of insurance requirements for trucks.

The insurance requirements will consider the mass of the truck and the type of cargo it hauls. Trucks fall into two categories: one that weighs less than 10,000 pounds and the second that weighs 10,000 pounds or more.

The truck that weighs 10,000 pounds must comply with the laws set by the Federal and Virginia state government:

  • Insurance coverage of $0.75 million for non-hazardous cargo
  • Insurance coverage of $5 million for hazardous materials management cargo

The insurance requirements for trucks that weigh less than 10,000 pounds need to comply with the following requirements

  • Insurance coverage of $0.3 million for non-hazardous cargo
  • Insurance coverage of $5 million for hazardous materials management cargo

The collisions that involve commercial trucks need to have specific insurance coverage. So, companies need to comply with laws set by the Federal and Virginia government to keep all drivers safe.

The insurance provider can recommend coverage limits, depending on your vehicle. Any trucks, trailers, or vehicles with a Virginia Department of Transportation serial number must fulfill additional liability coverage conditions.

Can You Get Compensation above Policy Limit for Personal Injury Cases?

The victims can’t recover damages more than the limit of the at-fault driver’s policy. Therefore, truck accident victims would need to file various claims to get compensation for their damages and injuries. Though, the truck driver is usually responsible for the collision, other parties might also have some sort of involvement, such as:

  • Trucking Company: The trucking company didn’t check the driver’s qualifications and skills before hiring them. The company will be responsible if the driver is operating the vehicle for long hours.
  • Truck Manufacturer: There is a chance that the accident was due to a manufacturing fault. Therefore, the truck manufacturer can also be responsible for the collision.
  • Third-party Maintenance Company: If the third-party maintenance company didn’t service the brakes, wheels, or other components properly, then they will also share responsibility for the accident.

Hire an Experienced Personal Injury Firm for Your Truck Accident

If you or your loved ones have sustained injuries and damages in a truck accident, then you are eligible for compensation. Dealing with legal complexities can be difficult, especially if you are recovering from injuries. Therefore, you should hire a reputable truck accident attorney in Virginia Beach for your case.