Most states, including Virginia, require drivers to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance to operate a vehicle legally. After a vehicle collision, insurance claims are a primary means of financial recovery for every party involved. Proof of coverage must also be in your car at all times.

Car Insurance Minimums in Virginia

Virginia is unique in that drivers are allowed to avoid carrying liability insurance on a vehicle if they pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee. Once the fee is paid, you can drive without insurance, but you will be personally liable if you cause an accident. If you choose to purchase liability insurance, here is the minimum amount of auto coverage mandatory in Virginia:

Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/20

  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage per accident

Liability coverage means that if you are at fault for an accident, your insurance company will be able to pay at least $30,000 for resulting injuries caused to the other party and $20,000 in property damage to repair or replace their vehicle and/or other items. This coverage does not pay for your injuries or property damage.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: 25/50/20

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage per accident

If another driver does not carry auto insurance or has too little insurance, this type of coverage will compensate you for your losses or pay for the difference.

Optional Coverage

Drivers also have the option of purchasing additional coverage.

  • Collision: This type of insurance will cover your damages no matter who was responsible for an accident.
  • Comprehensive: This coverage pays for damage to your vehicle caused by non-collision circumstances, such as theft or a weather-related event.
  • Medical Payments: Provides payment for you and your passengers’ medical expenses resulting from an accident.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If you need a rental car while waiting for your vehicle to be repaired or to receive payment for its replacement, this coverage will pay for it.
  • Loan/Lease Payoff: Also referred to as gap coverage, which can pay the difference between the amount you still owe on a loan or lease and the vehicle’s cash value.
  • Roadside Assistance: In the event that you get a flat tire, dead battery, need your car towed after an accident, etc., your insurer will send a tow truck if you have roadside assistance added to your policy.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Driving without insurance or failing to pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee in Virginia can result in the following penalties:

  • A fine of $500
  • Possible suspension of license and registration
  • Filing of an SR-22 certificate for three years
  • $145 reinstatement fee

If you do not have insurance or your coverage terminates, you must either reinsure the vehicle, pay the UMV fee, temporarily deactivate your license plates or surrender them to a local DMV.