A predawn hit-and-run collision in Norfolk, Virginia (VA). claimed the life of a 63-year-old man who had resided in Virginia Beach. The deadly crash happened at the intersection of Chesapeake Boulevard and Robin Hood Road.
Norfolk Police received initial reports of an injured person in the roadway at around 4:15 am on September 23, 2021. Emergency responders found a pedestrian alive but with life-threatening injuries. The man died after arriving at Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.
- Information on Virginia Laws That Apply to Pedestrians Who Are Hit by Cars
- Who Can File a Wrongful Death Lawsuit in Virginia?
- Overview of Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Police investigators released very little information to news reporters, but they did confirm that they are looking for a dark-colored sedan in connection with the crash. Anyone who witnessed the collision or who may know the identity of the driver who fled the scene is being asked to share their information by calling 1-888-LOOK-U-UP or using the P3Tips mobile app.
Tragedy Ensues When Drivers Do Not Watch Out for Pedestrians
The intersection of Chesapeake Boulevard and Robin Hood Road is marked with crosswalks and controlled by stop lights. Additionally, the posted speed limit is 35 mph. These facts may become important in a wrongful death lawsuit filed on behalf of the pedestrian.
State law in Virginia gives pedestrians right of way in three scenarios, more than one of which may have been the case when the deadly crash in Norfolk occurred:
- At any clearly marked crosswalk, whether at midblock or at the end of any block;
- At any regular pedestrian crossing included in the prolongation of the lateral boundary lines of the adjacent sidewalk at the end of a block; or
- At any intersection when the driver is approaching on a highway where the speed limit is not more than 35 miles per hour.
Another state law requires drivers to stop whenever they crash and possibly inflict injuries. That statute reads, in part,
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident in which a person is killed or injured or in which an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged shall immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible without obstructing traffic … and report his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number forthwith to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency.
Failing to stop and speak with law enforcement following a crash puts a driver at risk for facing felony charges. Fleeing the scene also makes it more difficult for crash victims to file and collect on insurance claims.
Difficult, but not impossible. Every car insurance policy issued in Virginia provides uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Those provisions can be invoked when an at-fault driver cannot be identified. An uninsured motorist claim goes to the victim’s own insurance company, and the insurer will ask for all the same proof of fault and medical evidence that it would if the claim came from a person it did not insure. Experienced Virginia wrongful death attorneys can assist grieving families with uninsured motorist claims.