NC Fireworks Accident Occurred at Uninspected, Improperly Permitted Site | Shapiro, Washburn & Sharp

The North Carolina (NC) Office of the State Fire Marshal has determined that July 4th fatal fireworks accident on Ocracoke Island happened at a place that had not been inspected and determined to be safe.

In a July 23 letter released to the Virginian-Pilot and other news outlets, State Fire Marshal Wayne Goodman informed  Hyde County officials that they had not followed proper procedures when approving a fireworks show at the North Carolina (NC) Center for the Advancement of Teaching. Specifically, the school site should have been inspected by state fire personnel because the school is a state facility.

While Goodman’s office has said it will not file any charges against Hyde County officials, state personnel will work with county personnel to clarify fireworks show safety procedures. Despite facing no state charges, school and county personnel could still be liable for the four deaths and one case of severe burns if further investigation shows that the people who signed off the fireworks show knew or should have known of potential risks to workers.

Many years of representing clients in personal injury cases has taught me that ensuring that workplaces are properly inspected and certified free of dangers is essential to keeping workers protected. Following workplace safety regulations is even more important when people are working in places where they normally would not be, such as a parking lot preparing for a fireworks show. Fireworks can be deadly, even when handled by professionals.

About the Editors: Shapiro & Appleton& Duffan personal injury law firm is based in Virginia (VA), near the NE North Carolina (NC) border. The firm handles car, truck, railroad, medical negligence cases and more. Our lawyers proudly edit the Virginia Beach Injuryboard, Norfolk Injuryboard, and Northeast North Carolina Injuryboard as a pro bono public information service. Shapiro & Appleton& Duffan’s lawyers are licensed in VA, NC, SC, WV, DC and KY.