Motorcyclists and Insurance Coverage in North Carolina

For those of you who are planning to buy a motorcycle, the know-how of insurance coverage in North Carolina is crucial. According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation, having motorcycle insurance is a necessity. Not all policies are the same and knowing which policy you should take is vital.

The insurance coverage you plan to take must meet minimum liability coverage limits. Plus, it is also important to carry the insurance proofs with you at all times, or else you will have to face penalties.

In this post, we are going to talk about the laws in North Carolina related to motorcycle insurance and also the requirements for motorcycles.

North Carolina Requirements for Motorcycle Insurance

Every motorcycle rider is required to carry insurance to legally operate their motorcycle on the road. Insurance is compulsory in North Carolina. Even before you buy your motorcycle, you are required to show proof of insurance. Here are the minimum motorcycle coverages in North Carolina:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury liability coverage of each victim per accident
  • $60,000 for bodily injury liability coverage for all victims in an accident
  • $25,000 for damage to property per accident
  • $30,000 for bodily injury of an uninsured motorist per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury of an uninsured motorist for all persons in an accident
  • $25,000 for damage to property of an uninsured or underinsured motorist

As you may have noticed, the minimum insurance coverage in North Carolina is fairly high if we compare it to other states. If you are ever in such a situation where you don’t have insurance or your policy falls short, then you will be personally responsible to cover all the expenses. This can take a huge hit on your personal savings, and no one wants that.

What Will Happen If I Don’t Take Motorcycle Insurance?

If you still decide to not take motorcycle insurance, then you may be liable to pay hefty fines. Driving without insurance is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor offense in North Carolina. The motorcyclist could face fines ranging from $50 to $150, and their license could also be suspended. Additionally, you could also face jail time for up to 45 days.

Additional Motorcycle Coverage To Consider

In addition to your minimum liability insurance, you can also consider buying additional motorcycle insurance. There are different types of coverages that protect you from additional damages and charges. Here are some additional motorcycle coverages to consider:

  • Collision Coverage: This insurance provides compensation for physical damage to your bike, whether it is with another bike, car, or even a stationary object.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: Comprehensive will cover damages to your motorcycle caused by wind, fire, vandalism, or theft.
  • Uninsured/Under-insured motorist coverage: Uninsured coverage is to protect you against an uninsured motorist as more than 9 percent of the motorists in the state are uninsured at any given time. This policy is there to protect you in case the other driver is uninsured or is from another state with different coverage policies.
  • Bodily injuries: This can cover costs if you accidentally injure or kill someone, plus, it also protects your passenger who is with you.
  • Accessories coverage: If you are someone who loves buying accessories for your motorcycle, then accessories coverage will protect items such as seats, backrests, and saddlebags. Your insurer might ask you to take comprehensive or collision coverage in order to have an accessories policy.

Legal Motorcycle Requirements in North Carolina

As per North Carolina laws, any mode of transport that fits this definition is a motorcycle – “Any motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel with no more than three wheels in contact with the ground.” Moreover, the vehicle must be able to travel faster than 30 mph and have a displacement larger than 50 cc.

North Carolina has beautiful places to ride your motorcycle. It doesn’t matter if you’re in the middle of the city or riding the highway, your motorcycle needs to be street legal at all times. There is a list of equipment that your motorcycle must have to comply with the laws of North Carolina. Here’s the comprehensive list:

  • Helmet: Necessary for all riders
  • Eye Protection: not needed
  • Mirrors: required to have one
  • Passenger seat and footrests: required if carrying a passenger
  • Headlight: Necessary
  • Safety Inspections: regular inspections needed

Consult with a Skilled North Carolina Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Today

Our experienced legal team at Shapiro, Washburn & Sharp understands the assistance that the victim might need after an accident. That’s why our skilled lawyers are here to help you and offer their guidance and support. Just give us a call at 800-752-0042 or contact us online. We will schedule a free case evaluation for you with one of our North Carolina motorcycle accident lawyers.