One person died during a three-vehicle collision near US 64 in Cary on Saturday, August 12th. According to a spokesperson from the Cary Police Department, the fatal accident took place at about 3:30 a.m. when a northbound driver suspected of being under the influence entered the southbound lanes of US 1. One driver was killed and two more are currently hospitalized.
What are the penalties for drunk driving in North Carolina?
Police have identified 49-year-old Charity Ragland as the driver who died.
Another driver was transported to an area hospital in critical condition, and the third driver was hospitalized with minor injuries. At this time, it is unclear which driver was behind the wheel of the wrong-way vehicle.
Responding officers indicated that alcohol is being investigated as a factor in the head-on accident and are currently awaiting toxicology reports.
This accident remains under police investigation.
If you were involved in a car accident caused by a driver under the influence, the North Carolina drunk driving injury attorneys at Shapiro, Washburn & Sharp can help you prove liability and protect your right to compensation. Call us to schedule your free consultation.
What is Considered “Under the Influence” in North Carolina?
North Carolina has very strict laws and penalties that pertain to anyone who is caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher.
Generally speaking, the severity of a driver’s punishment will depend on the severity of their crime, their driving record, and their history. Additionally, according to the Habitual DWI statute, if they have had more than two grossly aggravating factors on their record in the last seven years, they could face fines of as much as $4,000 and incarceration for a mandatory minimum of one year.
Criminal Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in North Carolina
Understanding North Carolina DUI laws is essential to protecting your rights after being injured by a drunk driver. The criminal penalties will depend on how many prior offenses the intoxicated driver has, the specific facts of the accident, and other important details.
For a first offense, the penalties for driving under the influence could involve a 30-day suspension of the offender’s driver’s license, court fees, and costs, administrative fines of $200, up to three years of probation, and 60 days in county jail.
A second DUI conviction in North Carolina is punishable by a one-year suspension of the offender’s driver’s license, court fees, and costs, administrative fines of $2,000, as much as five years of probation, and incarceration anywhere from one week to a year.
The penalties for a third offense include the permanent revocation of the offender’s driver’s license, court fees, and costs, administrative fines of $4,000, up to five years of probation, and anywhere from 30 days to two years in jail.
When is Driving Under the Influence a Felony in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, a charge of driving under the influence could be considered a felony in the presence of specific aggravating factors, such as:
- If the offender has been convicted of DUI more than twice in the last 10 years.
- If the intoxicated driver caused an accident resulting in the serious injury or death of another person.
- The intoxicated driver had a minor child in the vehicle.
Were You Injured by a Drunk Driver in North Carolina?
Accidents caused by drunk drivers often lead to severe injuries or death. If you were injured or lost a loved one due to the poor choices of a driver who was under the influence, a drunk driving injury attorney at Shapiro, Washburn & Sharp can help you get the financial compensation and the justice you are entitled to. Schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced North Carolina drunk driving injury lawyers by calling (833) 997-1774 today.
- Can a drunk driving victim sue a party host for injuries in North Carolina?
- Football Season and Drunk Driving Accidents in North Carolina
- Drunk Driving and Punitive Damages
- Virginia Wrongful Death Guide